Removeal of metadata

It has come to my attention that Yahoo is removing metadata from published images. Please tell me this is not true.

6 Replies
  • It is true, and it is likely a violation of the the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act of 1998).

See http://photobusinessforum.blogspot.com/200...-you-yahoo.html

I'm not very happy about this, and neither are a lot of other pro photographers and digital content creators. The Yahoo tool will purposefully strip out textual metadata, which includes copyright management information, ownership information, captions, and so forth, from images. I'm no lawyer, but this sure looks like a direct violation of the DCMA, and I expect legal action on this if the tool is not modified or withdrawn.

--Rich Wagner
  • As a photographer and writer, I also suggest that Yahoo consider removing this software and making a statement about the seriousness (and potential legal implications) of using software like "Smush it" to remove metadata from images (or other media assets). My guess is that the engineers were just trying to make something that improved performance, but it could have very bad consequences for copyright holders.

Andrew Darlow
    Editor, The Imaging Buffet
    Author, 301 Inkjet Tips and Techniques:
    An Essential Printing Resource for Photographers - http://www.inkjettips.com
  • Thanks Rich, Andrew,

smush.it now keeps all the metadata, while we're working on the best solution to satisfy performance and keep required meta. MOre detailed reply here:

Thanks very much for your concern and involvement!

• Att: Yahoo Developers