imdb top films

Total newbie to Pipes, so apologies. But seeking out some guidance on where to start on the below.

I would like to capture the below results into a table. http://www.imdb.com/search/title?at=0&sort=moviemeter,asc&start=1&title_type=feature&year=2012

Could someone suggest some pipe elements I can use to pull this apart and output into a table?

by
6 Replies
  • Hello,

First, analyse the means. You probably have three choices, scrapping the webpage as you propose, or getting the data proposed by the provider through some available feed, or getting the data from some API. It would seem that imdb do not provide an official API but you can use an unofficial one to cut the work. Of course, the problem with any API is that the format of the data returned might change with not much notice, and even less with prior notice.

Back to your problem: scrapping the webpage. In pipes you have two tools dedicated: the XPath fetch page (let's call it XFP) module and the deprecated fetch page module (but still available, as XFP has some limitations for the time being).

Knowing some basics about XPath is a requirement to use XFP, check this link and this one for syntax reference. In both cases, I would advice the following approach:

• first open the source code of the webpage (ctrl+U with firefox).

• next, identify the data you would like to fetch and its surrounding environment, especially distinctive features (if the data is in a list (li), in a table, and the identifier (id="...") of the container mark-up).

• Then, play with pipes! in XFP you should probably begin with no xpath expression, and then unfold until you find your data (if you read the webpage source, it should be pretty straightforward). Use the unfolded path as the xpath in the module, and taada! here you go.