Trying to add a unique guid to each item in rss feed

I have an rss feed that doesn't contain unique guid's per item.

I'm trying to use a wordpress addon to import items in an rss feed to posts but the addon only posts the first item in the feed because it assumes there all the same because they all have the same guid. The addon uses the guid to determine if an item in the feed has been posted already so it doesn't post the same thing twice.

So what I need to do is use yahoo pipes to create a unique guid per item in the feed so I can use the wordpress addon.

My rss feed has my login details so I cant share the original feed but here is the feed structure.

<item>
<title>Title here</title>
<category>Catagory Here</category>
<description>Description Here</description>
<pubDate>Wed, 05 Feb 2014 12:00:00 +0000</pubDate>
</item>

How would I go about this. I'm new to Pipes so please bare with me.

by
10 Replies
  • Have a look at this dummy pipe...

Pipes: FOR FORUM - GUID example http://pipes.yahoo.com/pipes/pipe.info?_id=e956194ba824b095c6a92f6c56eb2402

...in the editor. It's unfinished so I didn't bother to make

item.link

It uses apple, banana, cherry as item.title

===

String Builder + String Tokenizer modules They us BR tags to create the items.

Rename module It creates item.title

Regex module It creates a dummy item.pubDate so you can see how things work.

It could be item.TEMP is unique but let's assume it's not. So...

Regex module It creates item.UNIQUE_THING which is item.title plus item.pubDate

===

If the items aren't unique (say you get lazy and only use item.title) - items will be silently "filtered".

Consider these two items with identical item.title

• "Apple" Monday post is published on Monday
    • "Apple" Friday post is published on Friday

The result is

• "Apple" is published on Monday
    • On Friday the Monday post is rewritten with Friday's data.