My first pipes

Hello! I'm just starting to learn pipes. I want to create a news/feed in format rss. The result is not quite what I wanted. I can not remove the unnecessary lines. Here's a link to my pipes http://pipes.yahoo.com/pipes/pipe.info?_id=9d79e2bdd07dde99e31737f589b778fc. Please tell me the way solutions.

thanks in advance Kanat

4 Replies
  • Hello,

Your regexes are wrong. check out this website for more information about it.

For your application at hand, clean the strings in 2 steps: first, take out the junk in front of the wished string, then the junk after. Eg, try:

In item.title replace ^.*\<a[^\>]*\> with (nothing) [ ]g [x]s [ ]m [ ]i -> you get the title plus an invisible </a> mark up left. the regex here is read as "from first character of the string (^), match any number of any character (. is any character, the star is the quantifier : 0 or more) until you find a < character (as this character can have some significance in a regex, you need to escape it using the backslash) followed by a a character, followed by any number of any character except > (the bracket specifies a range a characters matched, if it begins with ^ it specifies the (range of) character(s) NOT matched) followed by a > character. All of that matched string is replaced by nothing, leaving the title and the last mark-up.

In item.title replace \<.*$ with (nothing) [ ]g [x]s [ ]m [ ]i -> start matching from first mark up character to end of string ($), replaced with nothing: that leaves only the title.

In item.link replace ^.*href=' with (nothing) [ ]g [x]s [ ]m [ ]i -> As in the first regex, matches everything up to the what marks the actual link, eg the href=', and replace it with nothing.

In item.link replace '.*$ with (nothing) [ ]g [x]s [ ]m [ ]i -> Finally, matches from first non-url character (the ') to the end of string.

Et voilĂ  :)