Locations within the UK

Hi all,

I am fairly new to Yahoo Geo.

I am attempting to build a comprehensive tree of county, region and city locations around the world.

My main issue at the moment is how to divide up such a complicated country as the United Kingdom.
My tree design only allows for Country->Region->City locations.

When I am looking at Yahoo Geo I am seeing similar problems to my own.

Let's talk about England specifically.

Now there are Ceremonial counties in England that from my understanding were broken up in the late 1990s (administratively at least).
This break-up mainly divided areas that had grown independent or too large into Unitary Authorities.

For an example:
- The city of Blackburn
Now it is actually part of the Unitary Authority "Blackburn and Darwen" while still being included for ceremonies as part of the Ceremonial County of Lancashire

On Yahoo Geo is says simply <admin2 type="County" code="GB-LAN">Lancashire</admin2>

Now my question is if it is a Unitary Authority it is an administrative region at the same level as the remainder of the Ceremonial County. Shouldn't these unitary authorities be put as the "admin" region above any towns or cities in their jurisdiction, rather than the ceremonial county?

Thanks all for any guidance you can provide,

Niko Roberts (http://www.travellr.com)

1 Reply
  • Niko
    As you are aware the local goverment hierarchy in the UK is a complex subject.
    We do support 4 tiers of administrative unit currently. They are...
    • Country = UK
    • Admin 1 = England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
    • Admin 2 = Counties
    • Admin 3 = Local Government Districts and Boroughs and the London Boroughs.