What TV should I purchase?

I am a developer looking to purchase a new TV and I wanted to get some feedback on what TV to buy? I would like to do some testing on the device but would also like to get a TV that is snappy when running widgets. I have noticed some TVs are a little slower when running the TV widgets. I’m not as concerned with picture quality as they all appear to look great to me. What TV is fastest with the widgets? What TV is best to test my widgets on? My widget will be playing video so I am wondering if any particular brand of TV is better for testing video in a widget?

by
21 Replies
  • In terms of raw performance, as of today the fastest TV for running widgets is the Samsung 2010 TVs and have the broadest feature support. Vizio 2010 TVs would probably come in second as far as performance goes and they definitely are competitive price wise. If all you are looking for is a test TV, Vizio has a great one available in a 22" size for under $350 (Amazon link here: http://amzn.to/a80XLa ). Where are you located geographically?

-Jeremy
  • QUOTE (Jeremy Johnstone @ Jun 29 2010, 05:34 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
    Where are you located geographically?

-Jeremy

Tha exactly is my Problem. I purchased a 2010 european Samsung which comes with Samsung Apps instead of Yahoo WDK. I hence tried to contact Samsung and get access to the Samsung Apps SDK . But richt now no reply from Samsung Germany.

Since i would prefer to develop using the WDK can you please give some indication if there are chances that Yahoo widgets will come to a 2010 European Samsung TV. And if so in which time frame.
  • QUOTE (gerd_kamp @ Jul 22 2010, 08:53 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
    Since i would prefer to develop using the WDK can you please give some indication if there are chances that Yahoo widgets will come to a 2010 European Samsung TV. And if so in which time frame.