How to update text in TextGrid

I'm a new developer to tv widgets and I have not understand how to update the UI in widgets out of the updateView function. Specifically I want to change the data in my textGrid after I got a response from the XMLHttpRequest.

by
16 Replies
  • QUOTE (lemi_arg @ Jan 27 2010, 05:30 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
    I'm a new developer to tv widgets and I have not understand how to update the UI in widgets out of the updateView function. Specifically I want to change the data in my textGrid after I got a response from the XMLHttpRequest.

Hi, you can update text with setText method like this:
    CODE
    this.controls.myTextGrid.setText('Lorem ipsum');
  • Ok, I create a mainview and inside it a textgrid:

var MainView = new KONtx.Class({
    ClassName: 'MainView',
    Extends: KONtx.system.FullscreenView,
    createView: function() {
    this.parent();

this.controls.textGrid = new KONtx.element.TextGrid({
    guid: this.config.id + '.TextGrid',
    label: "Hello World I am Back",
    styles: {
    fontSize: KONtx.utility.scale(30),
    width: 600,
    height: 100,
    vAlign: "bottom",
    hAlign: "center",
    color: "#FFFFFF",
    scrolling: "left",
    scrollingSpeed: 40
    },
    }).appendTo(this);
    login();

},

Then I do an xmlhttprequest and in the response function I tried to use your statement
    function response(response){
    print("got response");
    this.controls.textGrid.setText('got response');
    return ;
    }

In the debug windows I get (hello word is my widget)
    got response
    WD 00:00:47:982: [T:2178] got response
    WE 00:00:47:982: [T:2178] !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WE 00:00:47:982: [T:2178] ERROR!ERROR!ERROR!ERROR!ERROR!
    WE 00:00:47:982: [T:2178] !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    WE 00:00:47:982: [T:2178] Hello World [com.helloworld]
    WE 00:00:47:983: [T:2178] TypeError: this.controls has no properties (widget.js: Line 96)
  • Hi,