Fantasy League Website

My league has a fantasy website in addition to our yahoo league site. We are looking at trying to merge the two together. As of now we would like to get the stats, standings points, and other things of that nature on our website. Would I need to authenticate with Oauth to accomplish this?

I am having trouble with the Oauth tutorial that is on the documentation. I get this message

"error": {
"lang": "en-US",
"description": "Please provide valid credentials. OAuth oauth_problem=\"signature_invalid\", realm=\"yahooapis.com\""

I have gotten token and access key, but when i try to run the script to show the JSON it comes back invalid.

I am new at programming, so I guess my better question would be to where to start if I just want to get the stats for our website

by
15 Replies
  • Yes, you'd definitely need to be authenticating through OAuth in order to pull out that information. It does take a bit of work to get started with (the price we pay for maintaining security!), so I don't think there's any sort of drop-in solution I can give you.

One suggestion: if you're only trying to pull data from your league, and there's only one league that you're working with, it might make things easier to make things a bit more hardcoded instead of trying to get each and every one of your league members to authenticate through your site. I guess what I'm trying to say is that, if you want to show information only from leagues that you personally are part of on your site, you can just get an access token for your own Yahoo! ID, and then keep reusing that to make all of your requests from that point on. Let me give you a PHP example:

Step 1: Manually acquire a request token
    a) Set up an application with Fantasy Sports R/W access: https://developer.apps.yahoo.com/dashboard/createKey.html