Bid Multipliers

DSP bid multipliers enable fluid bid allocations on multiple targeting parameters, reducing the need to create multiple optimization lines to achieve specific line targeting goals.

Use the Bid Multipliers page to specify multipliers for selected targeting parameters.

bid-multipliers-page

How Multipliers Work

Bid multipliers give advertisers the ability to assign different values to targeting parameters they want to include for a given line. Bid multipliers can range in value from 0.00 to 9.95 (with value < 1 reducing the bid and values > 1 increasing the bid); advertisers can lower their bid for less desirable values and raise it for more desirable ones. Specifying a value of 0.00 for a bid multiplier effectively turns off targeting for that attribute.

Note

Bid multipliers are cumulative. If you include more than one bid multiplier and more than one targeting attribute with a bid multiplier value is satisfied on the bid request, the bid price calculation would be the product of multiplying all eligible bid multipliers.

To give them better control, advertisers can also define a Max Multiplied CPM value, which limits the bid price after applying all the eligible bid multipliers (as described above).

For oCPM lines with a % profit margin value field, the Max Multiplied CPM will be a gross value:

Bid Price = Max Multiplied CPM x (1 - % Profit Margin).

Available Multipliers

Note

Targeting attributes in Bid Multipliers are activated only when their corresponding targeting parameter is turned on in the Targeting tab.

You can apply bid multipliers for targeting parameters listed in the table below:

Targeting Attribute Optimization Strategy
Bid Pricing

Apply multipliers for specific Max CPM prices. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.5 for a $20.00 Max CPM price.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 1.00 for a $7.00 Max CPM price.
Ads

Apply multipliers for specific ad units. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.05 on an underperforming unit.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 2.00 on a high-performing unit.
Exchanges

Apply multipliers for specific exchanges. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.10 on AdX.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 3.00 on BRXD.
Day Parting

Apply multipliers for different parts of the day. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.10 between 12am and 5am.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 1.00 between 6am and 8pm.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 5.00 between 9pm and 11pm.
Apps & Sites

Apply multipliers for specific apps or sites. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 6.00 on sports.yahoo.com.
Devices

Apply multipliers for specific types of devices. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 5.60 for tablets.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 2.50 for desktop.
Ad Position (Display ads only)

Apply multipliers for specific ad positions (for display lines only). For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.10 for below the fold placements.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 4.00 for above the fold placements.
Audience

Apply multipliers for specific targeted audience segments. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 3.95 for Audience Segment A.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 4.80 for Audience Segment B.
Frequency Cap

Apply multipliers for specific frequency caps. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 2.0 on the first impression
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 1.0 on the second impression
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.5 on the third impression
Weather

Apply multipliers for specific weather events. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 2.0 on Sunny weather.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 1.0 on Cloudy weather.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.5 on Stormy weather.
Auction Type

Apply multipliers for specific auction types. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.5 on First Price auctions.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 1.0 on Second Price auctions.
Demographic

Apply multipliers for specific genders and ages. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 0.25 on impressions served to males.
  • Apply a bid multiplier of 1.0 on impressions served to females.
Location

Apply multipliers for specific locations. For example:

  • Apply a bid multiplier of 5.0 for Los Angeles, CA.

Applying Multipliers to a Line

You can define multipliers for different targeting attributes that have been included for the line.

To add a bid multiplier:

  1. After choosing a line (or when creating one for the first time), click on the Bid Multipliers menu option.

  2. Enter a Max Multiplied CPM value to reflect the maximum price you are willing to pay when taking any multipliers into account.

  3. Select a targeting parameter from the list at the left of the panel to jump to that section (or use the scroll bar to move up and down through the available parameters).

    bid-multiplier-parameters

Note

Turning off targeting in the Targeting tab will erase the previously set corresponding bid multiplier values.

  1. Enter a bid multiplier next to the parameter within each section. (If you are targeting multiple parameters within a section, each of them can have different bid multipliers.)
  2. Click Save to save your work or Cancel if you change your mind.

Bulk Import and Export Bid Multipliers

You can import and export bid multipliers using Excel.

The following video provides an overview of how the bulk import and export process works for bid multipliers.

For further details, see Bulk Uploads with Excel.

Viewing Bid Multiplier Performance Metrics

If you’ve defined different bid multipliers for different targeting parameters, you can view all of those multipliers in the Bid Multipliers tab. In addition, any metrics associated with those targeting parameters are also displayed:

bid-multiplier-metrics

You can make changes inline to the Bid Multiplier values and see resulting changes in the associated metrics.

Bid Price Calculation Scenarios

The sample scenarios below demonstrate how you might use bid multipliers to impact bid prices:

Scenario 1: Single Targeting Attribute without a Line Goal

In this scenario, the formula is:

Bid Price = Max CPM x bid multiplier (BM)

If the Max CPM is $5.00 and line goal is set to ‘None’, then:

  • Applying a bid multiplier of 0.05 would make the bid price $0.25 (5 x 0.05).
  • Applying a bid multiplier of 2.00 would make bid price $10 (5 x 2.00).
  • Applying a bid multiplier of 0.00 would eliminate bidding on that supply (5 x 0.00)

Scenario 2: Single Targeting Attribute with a Line Goal

In this scenario, the formula is:

Bid Price = Min [ (predicted conversion rate x line goal), (Max CPM x BM), (Max Multiplied CPM) ]

If the Max CPM is $5, CPA Goal is $20, predicted conversion rate is 5%, bid multiplier is 3.00, and Max Multiplied CPM is $25. This gives us:

Bid Price = Min [ (0.05 x 20), (5 x 3.00), (25) ] = Min [ 1, 15, 25 ] = 1

The minimum value is 1, so the final bid price would be $1. All else being equal, applying a bid multiplier of 0.15 would change the final bid price to $0.75 (5.00 x 0.15).

Scenario 3: Multiple Targeting Attributes without a Line Goal

In this scenario, the formula is:

Bid Price = Min [ (Max CPM x BM 1 x BM 2 x  BMn), (Max Multiplied CPM) ]

If more than one targeting attribute with bid multiplier value is satisfied on the bid request, the bid price calculation would be a multiplication of all eligible bid multipliers, but capped by the specified Max Multiplied CPM.

For the following scenarios, assume the Max CPM is $2, line goal is set to ‘None’, and Max Multiplied CPM is $50.

Case 1:

  • Bid multiplier on Domain finance.yahoo.com = 1.50
  • Bid multiplier on Device Type Mobile = 2.00

Bid price would be as follows:

Bid Price = Min [ (2.00 x 1.50 x 2), (50) ] = Min [ 6, 50 ] = $6

Case 2:

  • Bid multiplier on Audience Segment A - 1.50
  • Bid multiplier on Device Type Mobile - 2.00
  • Bid multiplier on Domain yahoo.com - 5.00
  • Bid multiplier on Exchange BRXD - 2.00

Bid price would be as follows:

Bid Price = Min [ ( 2 x 2.00 x 1.50 x 5.00 x 2.00), (50) ] = Min [ 60, 50 ] = $50

Scenario 4: Multiple Targeting Attributes with a Line Goal

In this scenario, the formula is:

Bid Price = Min [ (predicted conversion rate x line goal), (Max CPM x BM1 x BM2 x  BMn) , (Max Multiplied CPM)  ]

For the following cases, assume that the Max CPM is $2, CPA goal is $20, predicted conversion rate is 5%, and Max Multiplied CPM is $50.

Case 1:

  • Bid multiplier on Domain weather.yahoo.com - 2.00
  • Bid multiplier on Device Desktop - 2.00

Bid price would be as follows:

Bid Price = Min [ (0.05 x 20), (2 x 2.0 x 2.0), (50) ] = Min [ 1, 8, 50 ] = $1

Note

In this case, the bid multiplier has no effect as the predicted bid value is below the Max CPM of $2.

Case 2:

  • Bid multiplier for Domain finance.yahoo.com - 5.00
  • Bid multiplier for Device Desktop - 2.00

If the conversion rate is 50% instead of 5%, the bid price would be as follows:

Bid Price = Min [ (0.5 x 20), (2 x 2.00 x 5.00), (50) ] = Min [ 10, 20, 50 ] = $10

Without a bid multiplier, the bid price in Scenario 2 would have been $2:

Min [ (predicted conversion rate x lie goal), (Max CPM) ] =  Min [ (0.5*20), (2) ] = $2

Reporting

Use the metrics Report Builder Metrics and Report Builder Metrics to see how bid multipliers adjust bid prices for selected dimensions.

  • Bid CPM - the bid price without factoring in a bid multiplier.
  • Multiplied CPM - the bid price with a bid multiplier factored in.

With these new metrics, users will have greater transparency into their bid prices on a per line basis.

FAQs

Q: Is there any difference between applying a bid multiplier of 0.00 on a domain vs. excluding the same domain by implementing a block list?

A: No. Applying a bid multiplier of 0.00 acts as excluding the supply at targeting level. This applies to other supported targeting attributes in bid multiplier such as Audience, Day Parting, etc.